Learning The Ropes of Listening

Last week I was disgruntled but this week I’m learning. Learning to listen.

I figure if I can’t beat them I might as well join them. That’s what I’m trying to do.
I have had to re-record some material, so I am trying to do this thing right. I did my recording. Then I did the mixing with Sonar. I worked each track to where I thought it sounded the best.

Once I got each track as good as I could, I mixed the whole thing down into one stereo track. That done, I tried my hand at Mastering.

Now Mastering is tough, but I do not believe it is as esoteric, or arcane as some writers would like me to believe. I think it is a learnable skill like anything else. It is a matter of learning what tools are out there, and available to my budget, and then learning how to use them.

The real trick, the one that is what music writers go on so much about is the skill of actually listening to what you have done. But, and I believe this is true, this is a learnable skill as well.

We’ll see. I have a lot of songs on which to practice. But years ago I had to learn the fine art of seeing. I know that not everyone can see as well, or the same as everyone else. That’s what makes humans unique. I did learn to see better than average, I believe I will be abe to learn to hear better than average as well. We’ll see.

One thought on “Learning The Ropes of Listening

  1. i agree…i used to be very scared pf sitting behind the recording/mixing board because I was so used to , and very comfortable in the recording booth. However, one thing lead to another, then I found myself in that terrible place, behind the board…lol. anyway, listening for the mix is a learned skill in my book as well

Leave a Reply

