The World of 45-90 #1

The world of 45-90 is going really well right now, or at least as well as could be expected.  I’m tellin’ ya, getting a band up and rocking is no simple task!  I mean it is easy to get some kats together and go out to open mics and the like and play music–especially for cover bands with no real motivation, but it is truly different for an original music band that wants to try to make it in a larger scene.

First the band’s songwriter (me) needs to have a Musical Statement and a  Mission that can carry the band.  My Musical Statement my writing a body of work that is new and fresh, but that keeps the integrity of the early HonkyYonk/Rockabilly/Rock ‘N’ Roll of the middle to late 1950s.  My Mission is to get the work out that this music is alive and viable right now in the age of electronic, narcisisstically whiny, insubstantial dreck.  You may think this evaluation of modern music is a harsh opinion, but it is my opinion and it stays.

Once the Songwriter has both Musical Statement and Mission more or less defined, it is easy to target a market–it is much harder to find good, dependable, musicians who can carry both Musical Statement and Mission into the defined market.   I found it very frustrating as I looked for musicians compatible to my vision.  Some, really good musicians, could not get what I am about.  This was mostly because they had a preconceived notion of what it should be that was based on overlaying their own vision on top of mine and forcing mine to fit theirs.  Well, that didn’t work, and it didn’t work about five times.

Some folks are defined by the possibilities they find in life, others are defined bu their very considerable limitations.  The first of these find joy in discovery and in challenge; the latter of these find fear in anything that lurks outside their very small boxes.  I will continue these thoughts in another blog, but allow me to finish by stating that I have lucked out.  I have found two compatible souls who believe in both my music’s Statement and my Mission.  Folks, it don’t get much better than that.

In future blogs I will discuss Marketing, Representation, and Gigging.

One thought on “The World of 45-90 #1

Leave a Reply

