Songwriting & Hotties

 

45-90 Flaming Americana

 

The subtitle of this post is, “Just livin’ my life out loud,” which is an inside joke on myself.  I am an extrovert, a type “A” personality, and I yap a lot.  I thought that having a subtitle such as this was a good joke on me.  What thoughts my brain can hatch, my mouth can and will dispatch.  That’s just how it is.

This seems to be a great trait for a singer/songwriter and a performer, but sometimes it gets a little tedious for those in constant contact with yours truly.  And like Popeye, “I yam what I yam.”  So, and I think you will understand this, my blog is about drivel.  Now don’t get me wrong, I do believe that drivel is a good thing.  I also believe that drivel coaleses.

You see, I think that once I get an idea out into real-time space, no matter how worthless it may seem, it has a good possibility to become something of value.  Let’s look at some words that when strung together are weird, funny, bad English, represent terrible behavior, but make for a fairly good song.  The song’s title is, “Goodest Lookin’ Thing.”  I’ll show you what I mean.

A few years ago I was trying to write a song made up of bad pick-up lines, but I couldn’t find any.  I found a lot of bad pick-up lines (actually there are several sites devoted to them) but none that were redeemable.  I decided I would have to write one of my own.  The song goes lime this:

She looked like a hottie,

and just a little naughty, and

just a little down at the heel.

I watched her walkin’

and soon I was a walkin’

up to her to say she was the deal.

Why, yer th’ goodest lookin’ thing

I seen tossin’ back a shooter

and I like th’ way you wear yer food.

and th’ way you miss yer drink when you spill yer tequilla

just makes me fall in love with you.

Well, I had to do some yellin’

th’ bar was sellin’

three for th’ price of two.

She said it was a good line,

Said she’d like a good time,

and would I please check out her tattoo.

Bad lines need to work.  By that they need to be really good bad lines.  I know that this song works by the response I get when I sing it–laughter, groans, and applause.  I wouldn’t actually recommend anyone using this line, but people can imagine it being used, by some drunken bozo, and they howl.  Bars can sometimes be places where the ridiculous becomes reality and reality morphs into the ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

